CALENDAR

Torch Runs

by | Jul 20, 2016 |

KANSAS LAW ENFORCEMENT TORCH RUN

Since its inception in Wichita, many more Kansas Law Enforcement agencies have participated in the Law Enforcement Torch Run® (LETR). This run turned fundraising campaign raises more than just thousands of dollars for Special Olympics.

In late April, the highlight of the Torch Run season begins when the Flame of Hope travels from all corners of the state thorughout the month of May to the State Summer Games in Wichita. Officers from many different agencies escort the Flame of Hope on assigned legs throughout their local communities. The “Final Leg” is the culmination of the run, from Wichita City Hall to the Opening Ceremony of the Summer Games at Wichita State University. The Most Inspirational Athlete of the preceding year carries theTorch into the stadium escorted by the officers and together they light the cauldron to open the State Summer Games. Officers award medals throughout the three days of competition.

The Law Enforcement Torch Run ® gives officers, athletes and the community the opportunity to come together for a superior cause. Whether inspired to volunteer, donate or participate, they are be confident knowing they are supporting the Special Olympics Kansas mission to provide individuals with intellectual disabilities the opportunity to be an athlete… and more… through acceptance, inclusion, physical fitness, health and nutrition programs, and leadership development. – Together we will achieve.

CURRENT PARTICIPATING AGENCIES AND RUN ROUTES

Run Route Contact Person Contact Information Date
Andover Troy Snedeker tsnedeker@andoverks.com June
Atwood Greg Jones 785.626.3833
Augusta Danny Strobbe dstrobbe@augustadps.org June
Colby Luke Schulte schultel@ksso.org
Dodge City Jeff Mooradian 620.227.8126
El Dorado to Wichita Luke Grimes lgrimes@bucoks.com June
Ellsworth to Salina Brad Hansen brad.hansen@doc.ks.gov May
Emporia to El Dorado John Koelsch jkoelsch@emporia-kansas.gov June
Final Leg – Sedgwick County Luke Schulte schultel@ksso.org June
Ft. Riley – On Base Markus Fischbach markus.w.fischback.mil@mail.mil June
Garden City Gary Kuenstler gary.kuenstler@gardencityks.us
Goodland Joni Showalter joni.showalter@cityofgoodland.org
Great Bend Heather Smith hsmith@greatbendks.net June
Haysville Justin Jacks jjacks@haysville-ks.com June
Hesston to Newton Jennifer Burns jburns@npdks.org May
Hoxie Brian Diercks 785.675.3291
Junction City Matt Paquette Matt.Paqette@jcks.com June
Larned to Great Bend James Graham JamesG@doc.ks.gov June
Lawrence to Ottawa Doug Woods dwoods@dgso.org May
Leavenworth to Lansing Maj. Sherley jsherley@leavenworthcounty.org June
Lindsborg to Harvey County Jerry Montagne jmontagne@cox.net
Manhattan to Ft. Riley Jessie Erhlich jgehrlich@rileycountypolice.org June
McConnell AFB – Wichita Teresa Coronado teresa.coronado.1@us.af.mil June
Oakley Dustin Shellito policechief@discoveroakley.com
Olathe to KCK Adam Taylor ataylor@pvkansas.com May
Ottawa – Beto Junction Larabe Alexander Lalexander@ottawapd.org June
Pittsburg Chris Moore Christopher.Moore@police.pittks.org
Plainville Troy Rudman 785.434.2841
Pott County to Manhattan Doug Adams dadms@ptsheriff.com June
Rice County Marcos Guerrero MGuerrero@rcsoks.org June
Salina Scott Trembley Scott.Trembley@saline.org May
Stockton Gary Knight 785.425.6312
Topeka to Beto Junction Kristi Powell kpowell@topeka.org June
Winfield to Wichita Shawn Love slove@winfieldks.org June

DON’T SEE A TORCH RUN IN YOUR TOWN/COUNTY? CONTACT US AND LET’S CARRY THE FLAME OF HOPE THROUGH YOUR COMMUNITY. DOWNLOAD AND COMPLETE THE FORM AND SEND TO SOKS.